Business Capability Models are commonly decomposed into multiple levels:

The Banking Industry Architecture Network (BIAN) Service Landscape v4.0 consists of:

  • 7 Business Areas
  • 36 Business Domains
  • 280 Service Domains
  • 1960 Candidate Service Operations

The BIAN How-to Guide states:

BIAN’s approach is based on breaking all banking activity into a collection of discrete business capabilities called BIAN Service Domains.

OK, you mean what the business does, not how the business does something, right?

Working Groups govern Service Domains - Each Working Group has an associated area of business expertise. The scope covered by individual Working Groups is defined in their charter so that collectively Working Groups cover the whole landscape with no overlaps between them. The governance for Service Domains within a business area is assigned to a Working Group. The Working Group is then responsible for the initial specification and any subsequent updates to its assigned collection of Service Domains.

Conway's law states that "organizations which design systems ... are constrained to produce designs which are copies of the communication structures of these organizations". Which Eric S Raymond, restated as "If you have four groups working on a compiler, you'll get a 4-pass compiler".

Do you think that the BIAN Service Landscape is an example of Conway's Law?